Humboldt Forum

A place to be curious

The Humboldt Forum opened its doors to the public for a weekend to mark Alexander von Humboldt's 250th birthday. A party where artists from South America took the lead.

The Humboldt Forum is still a work in progress. Not only because while the Berlin City Palace may now have a spruce facade, it is still unfinished inside, some of it unplastered and bare – but also because the debate about the school of thought to be pursued here is far from over. How can the Humboldt Forum convey a global outlook that embraces diversity? How can critical postcolonial perspectives on its own European history be integrated? These questions still fill the air in this space with its high baroque windows.

 

On the occasion of a ceremony marking Alexander von Humboldt's 250th birthday – celebrated in cooperation with the Goethe Institute under the headline "250 years young!" – the large building in Berlin's Mitte district opened its doors for a weekend.

A taste of what Forum director Hartmut Dorgerloh calls the "responsibility" associated with Humboldt's name: "Learning from people from other cultural contexts and getting to the root of things," being critical of power structures and making the connection between the distant and the close at hand. 

Indigenous perspectives

The programme for the festivities certainly sought actively to break with the Eurocentric perspective. In addition to presentations (among others by Humboldt expert Andrea Wulf), a live video debate between Berlin, Bogotá and Novosibirsk, and DJ sets each night, the event centred on the works prompted by the Goethe Institute as part of its year on the theme of "Humboldt y las Américas". These included the exhibition curated by Halim Badawi on "The nature of things: Humboldt, coming and going", focusing on topics like the ruthless exploitation of South America's natural resources and the history of slavery.

Above all, however, the event was a space for the indigenous perspectives. Not only with a projection on the eastern facade showing the Amazonian night sky from the perspective of the scientists who live there, but also with a series of remarkable installations, 360° films and virtual and augmented reality projects combining centuries-old traditions with modern technologies.

Mental journeys

"Humboldt did not discover the South American continent," the Colombian filmmaker and artist Diana Rico is quick to point out. "Everything was there already, before his arrival; there was an indigenous body of knowledge about nature, which he studied." Rico presented two works inviting visitors to retrace Humboldt's journeys – but this time from the perspective of the original inhabitants. In the 360° film "Kají (Sacred Coca)", which she created together with Richard Décaillet, viewers don VR glasses to immerse themselves in the daily life of the jaguar shamans of Yuruparí on the Pira Paraná River in the Colombian region of Vaupés.

The technically brilliant film draws the viewer in, taking them on elegiac trips along the Amazon or into the huts of the shamans saying prayers over the coca leaf. They believe that "the coca and tobacco plants enable people to embark on mental journeys", Rico explains.

Virtual rituals

The second work she presented in Berlin is titled "Juyeko Humboldt". It was created during a hackathon in June 2019 hosted by the Goethe Institute and involving some 100 creatives, VR developers and Humboldt enthusiasts in Bogotá, Lima and Mexico City.

At the centre of "Juyeko Humboldt" is a maloca – an indigenous community house in the Amazon region. Each stake of this maloca "represents a special place", explains Juan Pablo Calderon from the team of developers. But instead of the geographical coordinates we're used to, he says, they reveal an indigenous cartography: "The waterfall south of here; the tree in the north, where the jaguar lives."

Markings on the floor and walls of the hut function as codes for augmented reality clips that can be experienced with a smartphone and headset. They show places visited by Humboldt like the Orinoco and Guajira, but leave their description to the indigenous people. Other films introduce ritual dances from the region in the form of tutorials.

Alexander VR Humboldt

Another remarkable project is "Alexander VR Humboldt" by a young team of developers from Mexico. Once again, VR glasses immerse visitors in an interactive game – in the footsteps of Humboldt, whose Mexico journey led from Acapulco to Mexico City. In the virtual world, visitors assemble measuring instruments that the scientist carried with him on his travels, such as a sextant or an altitude gauge. Or categorise plants that Humboldt studied in Mexico: the floripondio – the mimosa.

 

"Humboldt was an adventurer, he wanted to look beyond his own backyard, that makes quite an impression on me", says 3D artist David Campuzano Gómez from the Mexican team. "And this curiosity about other worlds is also what motivates us when we play video games."


you may also like ...

Teaser image Wrapped up in Humboldt's legacy

Exhibition

Wrapped up in Humboldt's legacy

The exhibition “La naturaleza de las cosas: Humboldt, idas y venidas” (The nature of things: Humboldt, coming and going) in Bogotá demonstrates how contemporary art in Columbia is looking to engage with the natural scientist.

More
Teaser image Humboldt lives!

Exhibition

Humboldt lives!

The Hamburg Center of Natural History (CeNak) is joining in the celebrations to mark the anniversary year. In the exhibition "Humboldt lives!", the Zoological Museum and the Botanical Garden of the University of Hamburg cast a light on Humboldt's expedition to South America.

More
Teaser image At the easternmost point of his life

The last expedition

At the easternmost point of his life

At an age where most scientists would have settled for the odd conference, Alexander von Humboldt was still seeking adventure. In 1829 he set off on an expedition that took him to the court of the Russian Emperor and the border with China.

More

Humboldt Forum

Ein Haus für die Neugierde

Ein Wochenende lang hat das Humboldt Forum anlässlich Alexander von Humboldts 250. Geburtstag seine Pforten geöffnet. Eine Party, bei der Künstler aus Südamerika die Regie übernommen haben.

Das Humboldt Forum bleibt eine Baustelle. Nicht nur, weil das Berliner Stadtschloss zwar mittlerweile über eine schmucke Fassade verfügt, im Inneren aber noch unfertig, teils unverputzt und roh ist, sondern auch, weil die Debatte über die Denkrichtung, die hier eingeschlagen werden soll, längst noch nicht abgeschlossen ist. Wie kann das Humboldt Forum Weltoffenheit ausstrahlen? Wie lassen sich kritische postkoloniale Perspektiven auf die eigene europäische Geschichte integrieren? Diese Fragen stehen nach wie vor im Raum mit den hohen Barockfenstern.

Anlässlich eines Festakts zu Alexander von Humboldts 250. Geburtstag – der unter dem Titel „250 Jahre jung!“ in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut gefeiert wurde – hat der Großbau in Berlin-Mitte für ein Wochenende seine Türen geöffnet.

Eine Kostprobe dessen, was der Generalintendant des Forums Hartmut Dorgerloh die „Verpflichtung“ nennt, die mit dem Namen Humboldt verbunden sei: „Von Menschen aus anderen kulturellen Kontexten zu lernen und den Dingen auf den Grund zu gehen“, kritisch auf Machtstrukturen zu schauen und das Entfernte gedanklich mit dem Nahen zu verknüpfen. 

Indigene Perspektiven

Das Programm des Festaktes jedenfalls sucht offensiv den Bruch mit der eurozentrischen Perspektive. Neben Vorträgen (etwa von der Humboldt-Expertin Andrea Wulf), einer Live-Video-Diskussion zwischen Berlin, Bogotá und Nowosibirsk sowie nächtlichen DJ-Sets standen jene Arbeiten im Zentrum, die das Goethe-Institut im Rahmen seines Themenjahres „Humboldt y las Américas“ angeregt hat. Wie die von Halim Badawi kuratierte Ausstellung „Die Natur der Dinge: Humboldt, Kommen und Gehen“, die Themen wie den Raubbau an der Natur Südamerikas oder die Geschichte der Sklaverei in den Fokus nimmt.

Die Veranstaltung sollte vor allem den indigenen Sichtweisen Raum geben. Nicht nur mit einer Projektion an der Ostfassade, die den Sternenhimmel Amazoniens aus der Perspektive der dort beheimateten Forscher zeigt,sondern auch mit einer Reihe bemerkenswerter Installationen, 360°-Filmen sowie Virtual- und Augmented-Reality-Projekten, in denen sich Jahrhunderte alte Tradition und moderne Technik verbinden.

Reisen in Gedanken

„Humboldt war nicht der Entdecker des südamerikanischen Kontinents“, betont die kolumbianische Filmemacherin und Künstlerin Diana Rico. „Schließlich existierte alles schon vor ihm, es gab ein indigenes Wissen um die Natur, die er erforscht hat.“ Rico lädt mit zwei Arbeiten dazu ein, Humboldts Reisen nachzuvollziehen – allerdings aus dem Blickwinkel der Ureinwohner. In dem 360°-Film „Kají (Sacred Coca)“, den sie zusammen mit Richard Décaillet realisiert hat, taucht der Zuschauer mittels einer VR-Brille in die Lebenswelt der Jaguar-Schamanen von Yuruparí am Pira-Paraná-Fluss im kolumbianischen Vaupés ein.

Der technisch brillante Film entfaltet einen immersiven Sog, lädt ein zu elegischen Fahrten auf dem Amazonas oder führt hinein in die Hütten der Schamanen, die Gebete über das Koka-Blatt sprechen. Nach ihrem Glauben „erlauben die Koka- und die Tabakpflanze das Reisen in Gedanken“, erklärt Rico.

Virtuelle Rituale

Das zweite Werk, das sie in Berlin vorstellt, trägt den Titel „Juyeko Humboldt“. Es ist im Rahmen eines Hackathons entstanden, zu dem das Goethe-Institut im Juni 2019 rund 100 Kunstschaffende, VR-Entwicklerinnen und -Entwickler sowie Humboldt-Begeisterte in Bogotá, Lima und Mexiko-Stadt eingeladen hatte.

Im Zentrum von „Juyeko Humboldt“ steht eine Maloca: ein Haus für Zusammenkünfte indigener Gemeinden im Amazonasgebiet. Jeder Pfahl dieser Maloca „repräsentiert einen speziellen Ort“, erklärt Juan Pablo Calderon aus dem Entwicklerteam. Statt geografischen Koordinaten, wie wir sie gewohnt seien, fächerten sie jedoch eine indigene Kartografie auf: „Der Wasserfall südlich von hier, der Baum im Norden, auf dem der Jaguar lebt.“

Markierungen auf dem Boden und an den Wänden der Hütte funktionieren als Codes für Augmented-Reality-Clips, die mittels Smartphone und Kopfhörer erfahrbar werden. Sie zeigen Orte, die Humboldt besucht hat, etwa den Orinoco oder Guajira, lassen jedoch von den indigenen Menschen beschreiben. Andere Filme leiten als Tutorials zu rituellen Tänzen aus dem Gebiet an.

Alexander VR Humboldt

Bemerkenswert ist auch das Projekt „Alexander VR Humboldt“, das ein junges Entwicklerteam aus Mexiko auf die Beine gestellt hat. Wiederum mittels VR-Brille taucht man in ein interaktives Game ein – auf den Spuren Humboldts, dessen Mexiko-Reise ja von Acapulco bis nach Mexiko-Stadt führte. In der virtuellen Welt setzt man Messinstrumente zusammen, die der Forscher auf seinen Reisen mit sich führte, etwa einen Sextanten oder einen Höhenmesser. Oder kategorisiert Pflanzen, die Humboldt in Mexiko untersucht hat: die Floripondio – die Mimose.

„Humboldt war ein Abenteurer, er wollte über seinen Tellerrand schauen, das imponiert mir“, sagt der 3D-Künstler David Campuzano Gómez aus dem mexikanischen Team. „Und die Neugier auf andere Welten ist es doch auch, die uns antreibt, wenn wir Videospiele spielen.“


auch interessant ...

Teaser image Eingehüllt in Humboldts Mantel

Ausstellung

Eingehüllt in Humboldts Mantel

Die Ausstellung „La naturaleza de las cosas: Humboldt, idas y venidas“ (Die Natur der Dinge: Humboldt, Kommen und Gehen) in Bogotá zeigt, wie die zeitgenössische Kunst in Kolumbien die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Naturforscher sucht.

Mehr
Teaser image Interview

Interview

Interview

Alexander von Humboldt als Inspiration für Hip-Hop-Musik, geht das? Aber klar: „Humboldt’s Groove“ heißt der Track vom kubanischen Rapper El Temba und dem Kölner MC Retrogott, bürgerlich Kurt Tallert. Dieser ist für seine sozialkritischen Texte bekannt – in Humboldts Gedankenwelt hat er vor allem politische Anknüpfungspunkte entdeckt.

Mehr
Teaser image „Humboldt würde sich einmischen – und wie?!“

Diskussion

„Humboldt würde sich einmischen – und wie?!“

An der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin fand eine Festwoche zu Ehren des Namenspatrons statt. „Humboldt würde sich einmischen – und wie!?“ – diese Frage stellten sich Anita Engels, Rahel Jaeggi, Cem Özdemir, Erck Rickmers, und Nora Milena bei einer Diskussion über Herausforderungen für die Welt – und die Rolle der Wissenschaft.

Mehr