Interview

“Humboldt had this ruthlessness towards himself”

Researcher, globetrotter, networker and discoverer – Alexander von Humboldt was a real high-flyer. But who was Alexander, the private person? An interview with journalist and author Dorothee Nolte about the life and loves of an immortal genius.

Dorothee Nolte, your new book Alexander von Humboldt - Ein Lebensbild in Anekdoten (Alexander von Humboldt: A Life Told in Anecdotes) is essentially a biography made up of anecdotes that you have come across in the course of your research. Why have you chosen this format?

DOROTHEE NOLTE: I’m not a scientist, so I went about my research differently from the way a scientist might have approached the subject. I was looking for witty quotes and amusing happenings which I then brought to the surface like a pearl fisher. There have already been a large number of publications and biographies about Alexander. But there was a special focus to my enquiries – I was looking for strong narrative, entertaining stories that reflect Humboldt’s most pressing concerns, but in a condensed form.

Which sources did you access apart from letters and biographies?

At the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities, there is a research centre focusing on Humboldt. The former director, Ingo Schwarz, has been very supportive. Among other things, he pointed me in the direction of Gespräche Alexander von Humboldts (The Conversations of Alexander von Humboldt), a collection which went out of publication some time ago. The book contains a wealth of Humboldt’s quotations and pronouncements recorded at the time – a veritable treasure trove.

Contemporary witnesses are not always favourably inclined towards Alexander von Humboldt. Should we think of him as an outrageous slanderer?

At least, reports of that kind have been handed down. It has been alleged that guests would not leave a social gathering before Humboldt left, because he would speak ill of the absent. But I find this small character foible forgivable, because he was also able to laugh at himself.

How well do you think it is possible to know him as a private person? For example, in the matter of love. He is supposed to have had homosexual inclinations, but whether he indulged them is unknown. There aren’t any stories about romantic liaisons with females, though, are there?

There is the telling anecdote about a certain Fräulein von R who tried to attract his interest, not least because he was also a good-looking man. She sought to engage him in conversation about his measuring instruments, a good choice of topic with Humboldt [Dorothee Nolte laughs], and at some point, she enquired whether he had ever been in love. To which he is said to have replied: “Yes, but only with science.”

The image that we have of Alexander is also that of the fearless adventurer – never seasick, always the first to scale the volcano. Was he something of a self-publicist?

His curiosity, his thirst for knowledge was really extraordinary. Humboldt had this ruthlessness towards himself which bordered on mania. He did not even shy away from being the guinea pig in his own experiments. During his spell as a mining engineer, for example, he designed a lamp that was supposed to work efficiently in low-oxygen environments. To test it, he was quite willing to take the risk of falling unconscious.

Might he be described as a sort of pop star of his time? His lectures were attended by audiences of a thousand or more, and he was deluged with correspondence from admirers.

Absolutely. It also has to be mentioned that he was a gifted networker. If Alexander were to be brought into our era, I am convinced that he would have no problem fitting in. And he would certainly make effective use of modern media.

How did he handle his own fame?

He knew how to downplay his celebrity status. A prince once asked him what he was by profession. To which Humboldt replied: “King’s Chamberlain.” Whereupon the prince wrinkled his nose and said: “Is that all?” But for Humboldt, this was not a slight but rather evidence of the prince’s intelligence, as he himself did not consider the role of Chamberlain to be anything special. He maintained a healthy distance to “superfluous pomp”.

 

Humboldt’s liberal views were ahead of their time. To what extent did he rub those around him up the wrong way?

There is the interesting quote from a contemporary who mocked Humboldt for being “the eternal republican who was always in the palace anteroom”. He was a smooth operator, but he nevertheless made himself unpopular with the conservative faction around the king. This “reactionary cloud”, as Humboldt called them, considered him a “trikolorer Lappen” (a reference to the Tricolore flag of the French Revolution).

 

He spoke disparagingly about the “moral desert” of Berlin for most of his life. It was only in old age that he moderated his tone. A credible conversion?

Berlin was obviously not as cosmopolitan as Paris. But Humboldt had his brother’s family here, he was popular with the people and he was nominated honorary citizen of Berlin. I think that he broadly came to terms with the city. Nevertheless, he was profoundly opposed to certain phenomena such as the prevailing anti-Semitism. And the natural surroundings seemed very boring to him. The only place he could be with his beloved tropical vegetation was a palm house on Pfaueninsel, an island in the Havel river.

 

Bismarck described Alexander von Humboldt as a “merciless babbler”. Just how tolerable a companion was he, when all is said and done?

Bismarck was also a great gossip; the two were certainly each other’s equal in that regard! However, even Wilhelm sometimes complained about his brother engaging in monologues. And I too am more a fan of dialogue. On the other hand, it’s possible to enjoy the company of people who know such a lot, have travelled so extensively and researched and written so much, even if they have the odd character failing.


Dorothee Nolte (PhD in Literature) is editor of the Politics and Philosophy section in the Berliner Tagesspiegel.

you may also like ...

Teaser image Humboldt’s Travels

Expedition

Humboldt’s Travels

Alexander von Humboldt left the shores of Europe for the first time in 1799. His country of embarkation was Spain and his destination the ‘New World’. Insights into Humboldt’s great American voyage from 1799 to 1804.

More
Teaser image “Everybody’s star”

Interview

“Everybody’s star”

Whether as a discoverer, Romantic, Atlanticist, climate prophet or working class hero: there isn’t just one Humboldt, but lots of them. Historian of science, Nicolaas A. Rupke, has investigated how the various images of Humboldt have come about.

More
Teaser image Humboldt commemorations around the world

Anniversary year 2019

Humboldt commemorations around the world

Globetrotter and scientist Alexander von Humboldt was born 250 years ago. To mark the anniversary, numerous ceremonies, conferences, lectures, projects and other activities will be taking place throughout 2019. Most of these will be held in Germany, but the countries of South America visited by Humboldt also have events planned, most notably Peru.

More

Interview

„Humboldt hatte eine Rücksichtslosigkeit gegen sich selbst“

Forscher, Globetrotter, Netzwerker und Entdecker – Alexander von Humboldt war ein echter High Performer. Doch wer war der Privatmensch Alexander? Ein Gespräch mit der Journalistin und Autorin Dorothee Nolte über das Leben und Lieben eines ewigen Genies.

Dorothee Nolte, in Ihrem neuen Buch „Alexander von Humboldt – Ein Lebensbild in Anekdoten“ setzen Sie eine Forscher-Biografie aus lauter Miniaturen zusammen. Weshalb diese Form?
DOROTHEE NOLTE: Ich bin keine Wissenschaftlerin und deshalb in der Recherche anders vorgegangen, als es ein Wissenschaftler tun würde. Ich habe nach lustigen Zitaten, amüsanten Begebenheiten geforscht und sie herausgepickt wie ein Perlenfischer. Über Alexander gibt es ja eine Vielzahl von Publikationen und Biographien. Aber mein Blick hatte diesen speziellen Fokus: Wo ist das gut Erzählbare, Unterhaltende, das Humboldts dringlichste Anliegen spiegelt – nur eben in verknappter Form?

Auf welche Quellen konnten Sie neben Briefen und Biographien zugreifen?
An der Berlin-Brandenburgischen Akademie der Wissenschaften gibt es eine Forschungsstelle zu Humboldt, deren ehemaliger Leiter Ingo Schwarz mich sehr unterstützt hat. Unter anderem, indem er mich auf den Band „Gespräche Alexander von Humboldts“ hingewiesen hat, der heute gar nicht mehr aufgelegt wird. In dem Buch ist eine Vielzahl an Zeitzeugen-Zitaten und Aussprüchen Humboldts gesammelt – eine Fundgrube.

Zeitzeugen äußern sich nicht nur positiv über Alexander von Humboldt. Muss man ihn sich als gefürchteten Lästerer vorstellen?
So wird es zumindest berichtet. Es gibt ja den berühmten Ausspruch, dass mancher eine Abendgesellschaft nicht verließ, bevor nicht auch Humboldt gegangen war. Denn über Abwesende zog er angeblich gern her. Ich finde diese kleine charakterliche Schwäche allerdings verzeihlich, weil er auch über sich selbst lachen konnte.

Wie nah kommt man ihm privat? Beispiel Liebe. Hier heißt es ja, er habe homosexuelle Neigungen gehabt. Ob er sie auch ausgelebt hat, bleibt jedoch im Dunkeln. Liebschaften zu Frauen hatte er jedenfalls nicht, oder?
Es gibt die hübsche Anekdote eines Fräuleins von R., die sich ihm annähern wollte, nicht zuletzt, weil er wohl auch ein attraktiver Mann war. Sie hat mit ihm den Austausch über seine Messinstrumente gesucht, ein gutes Thema für Humboldt (lacht), wollte aber irgendwann doch wissen, ob er denn niemals geliebt habe? Woraufhin er entgegnet haben soll: Doch, aber nur die Wissenschaft.

Zu Alexander gehört natürlich das Bild des furchtlosen Abenteurers: nie seekrank, immer der Erste auf dem Vulkan. Hat er damit auch Publicity in eigener Sache betrieben?
Seine Neugierde, sein Wissensdrang waren wirklich außergewöhnlich. Humboldt hatte eine Rücksichtslosigkeit gegen sich selbst, die teilweise an Manie grenzte. Er schreckte ja auch vor Selbstversuchen nicht zurück. In seiner Zeit als Bergbau-Ingenieur zum Beispiel hat er eine Lampe entwickelt, die auch in sauerstoffarmer Umgebung funktionieren sollte – um die zu testen, hat er die eigene Ohnmacht in Kauf genommen.

Muss man ihn sich als Popstar seiner Zeit vorstellen? Seine Vorlesungen fanden in Sälen für tausend Zuhörer statt, er bekam jährlich eine Unmenge an Briefen…
Unbedingt. Und er war ein begnadeter Netzwerker, das kam hinzu. Würde man Alexander in unsere Zeit versetzen, er hätte keine Schwierigkeiten, sich zu akklimatisieren, davon bin ich überzeugt. Nicht zuletzt die modernen Medien würde er sich zunutze machen.

Welches Verhältnis hatte er zum eigenen Ruhm?
Er wusste seine Popularität zu ironisieren. Ein Prinz fragte ihn mal, was er von Beruf sei. Und Humboldt entgegnete: Kammerherr des Königs. Woraufhin der Prinz nur die Nase rümpfte: Weiter nichts? Für Humboldt war das aber keine Kränkung, sondern Beleg für die Intelligenz seines Gegenübers. Kammerherr sei ja wirklich nichts Besonderes. Er hatte eine gesunde Distanz zu „unnötigem Glanz“.

Humboldt war als Liberaler seiner Zeit voraus. Wie sehr ist er damit angeeckt?
Dazu gibt es wiederum das interessante Zitat eines Zeitgenossen, der über Humboldt spottete: „Immer Republikaner, immer im Vorzimmer des Palastes“. Er verstand es durchaus, sich geschmeidig zu bewegen. Trotzdem hat er sich bei den Rechten, die den König umgaben, unbeliebt gemacht. Diesem „reaktionären Gewölk“, wie Humboldt es nannte, galt er als „trikolorer Lappen“.

Auf Berlin, diese „moralische Sandwüste“, hat er sein Leben lang geschimpft. Erst im hohen Alter wurde der Blick milder. Eine glaubhafte Wandlung?
Berlin war natürlich nicht so weltläufig wie Paris. Aber Humboldt hatte hier die Familie seines Bruders, er war beliebt beim Volk und wurde zum Ehrenbürger erklärt. Ich denke, insgesamt hat er sich tatsächlich mit der Stadt arrangiert. Dennoch, Phänomene wie den herrschenden Antisemitismus hat er zutiefst abgelehnt. Und die Natur erschien ihm sehr langweilig. Seine geliebte tropische Vegetation fand er in nur in einem Palmenhaus auf der Pfaueninsel.

Bismarck hat Alexander von Humboldt als gnadenlosen Schwätzer beschrieben. Wie sympathisch ist er Ihnen unterm Strich geworden?
Bismarck war auch ein großer Lästerer, die beiden nahmen sich nichts! Allerdings hat sich bisweilen selbst Wilhelm über das Monologisieren seines Bruders beklagt. Und ich bin auch eher eine Freundin des Dialogs. Andererseits kann man Menschen, die so viel wissen, so viel gereist sind, so viel geforscht und geschrieben haben, auch mögen, wenn sie den einen oder anderen Fehler haben.


Die promovierte Literaturwissenschaftlerin Dorothee Nolte ist Redakteurin im Bereich „Politik und Konzepte“ des Berliner „Tagesspiegel“.

auch interessant ...

Teaser image Mit Humboldt unterwegs

Forschungsreise

Mit Humboldt unterwegs

Von Spanien aus verlässt Alexander von Humboldt im Jahr 1799 erstmals Europa. Das große Ziel: Die Neue Welt. Einblicke in Humboldts große Amerika-Reise von 1799 bis 1804.

Mehr
Teaser image „Ein Star für alle“

Interview

„Ein Star für alle“

Ob Entdecker, Romantiker, Atlantiker, Klimaprophet oder Held der Arbeiterklasse: Es gibt nicht einen Humboldt, sondern viele. Der Wissenschaftshistoriker Nicolaas A. Rupke hat erforscht, wie die unterschiedlichen Humboldtbilder zustande kommen.

Mehr
Teaser image Die Welt feiert Humboldt

Jubiläumsjahr 2019

Die Welt feiert Humboldt

Vor 250 Jahren wurde Alexander von Humboldt geboren – ein Anlass, dem Weltenbummler und Forscher die Ehre zu erweisen. Bei den zahlreichen Jubiläumsaktionen liegt der Fokus auf Deutschland, doch auch in den von Humboldt bereisten Ländern Südamerikas laufen die Planungen auf Hochtouren. Zum Beispiel in Peru.

Mehr