Interview

A scarab called Humboldt

Bert Kohlmann is a biologist, professor at the EARTH University in Costa Rica and a highly sought-after beetle specialist. In this interview he speaks about the recently discovered species Onthophagus humboldti and Uroxys bonplandi, Humboldt's relevance, and the popularity of science.

Professor Kohlmann, you discovered two new species of scarab beetle in Costa Rica and named them after Alexander von Humboldt and Aimé Bonpland – what is so special about Onthophagus humboldti and Uroxys bonplandi?
Both species are endemic. That means they live only in very limited areas in the mountains of Costa Rica. And Onthophagus humboldti is the extremely brachypterous species of this genus – its wings are reduced, so it has lost the ability to fly.

You once said: "I can tell straight away just by looking at it whether a beetle is new." How does your trained eye work – and where did you discover the two Scarabaeidae?
It's simply a matter of time and experience. When you've worked in a specialist area for so many years, you become familiar with all the different species – and you notice new ones straight away. The two new species were collected on expeditions in the virgin forests on the mountains of Costa Rica, with specially designed traps.

As an internationally renowned biologist you work in a lot of different research fields, including conducting research with NASA on the rare Chagas disease. What is it that always draws you back to beetles, why this fascination?
Beetles have held a special attraction for me ever since I was little. When I was about ten, my family and I went to Lake Tequesquitengo in Morelos, Mexico. I collected a beetle there, only later discovering that it was the Phanaeus daphnis. I was so in awe of the beauty and brilliance of this insect that I must have decided right then and there to become a scientist.

 

Alexander von Humboldt was also a passionate collector of beetles, stones and plants as a child. Do you feel a connection with him?
My relationship with Humboldt goes back a long way and is indeed very close. I first came across him when I attended a school in Mexico City that was named after him. Later I was at Berlin's Humboldt University as part of my master's studies, and I am a Humboldt Foundation alumnus. And yes, just like him, I feel a great attraction to nature, and above all a huge admiration and love for it.

 

"Humboldt said that in order to study nature, you have to feel it." 

 

Just recently a rare plant species in Iran was named after Humboldt, the tamarisk shrub Tamarix humboldtiana. Why is naming new species after the German scientist so popular? People could just as easily name new beetles and plants after their wife or their favourite musician ...
I think it's mainly because Humboldt is such a great inspiration. Dedicating a species to him is a way of feeling closer to him.

Why is he so inspiring?
Humboldt said that in order to study nature, you have to feel it. I regard this comment as the philosophical basis of any scientific study. You could say it's the setting for what the philosopher of science Imre Lakatos called a research programme. In other words, a universal mindset.

 

What, in your view, makes Humboldt so relevant today?
Humboldt is criticised, too, for instance because, unlike Darwin, he didn't propose any laws. Or for allegedly romanticising science. I can't sympathise with either of these views. Humboldt's thought was always holistic, more akin to an ecologist than the "modern", highly specialised type of scientist we know today. The comment he wrote in 1803 while travelling in the Valley of Mexico – "Everything is interconnected" – is for me one of the greatest contributions to science. In a later text written in 1814, Humboldt penned another astute, almost prophetic sentence: "For science, no questions or objects of research are too small."

 

In San José, where you are research director and professor at the EARTH University, there is the German school Colegio Humboldt. What other traces of Humboldt are still evident in Costa Rica? Does he have any relevance in everyday life?
Humboldt never actually visited Costa Rica, but he still left his mark there. In Cosmos he mentions a number of Costa Rican mountains, such as Cerro Chirripó, Cerro Kamuk and Orosí. In 1854 the naturalists Hoffmann and von Frantzius introduced themselves to the then president of Costa Rica, Juan Rafael Mora Porras, with a letter of recommendation from Humboldt. The two travellers played a key role in the development of science in this country. They made a huge contribution to the development of medicine, biology, anthropology and even volcanology.

 

"For me, popularity was always a matter of ungratified vanity."

 

In what way?
The researcher Hoffmann lent his name to no less than 38 plant and animal species, including a woodpecker (Melanerpes hoffmannii) and the two-toed sloth (Choloepus hoffmannii). He also studied the volcanoes Barva, Irazú and Turrialba, describing the latter in 1855 as "the constantly steaming Turrialba volcano". Alexander von Frantzius, on the other hand, worked more as a doctor on arrival in Costa Rica; he was knowledgeable about dentistry. On one occasion someone brought him a bottle with a particular kind of water, a sample from the Poás Volcano's Laguna Caliente. Some people were able to dissolve their decaying teeth with this particularly acidic water, allegedly with less pain than having them extracted.

 

There is even a stamp dedicated to your own research in Costa Rica. In general, however, many lament science's lack of visibility in the social and political domain. Do you sometimes wish that academic concerns were more popular, as in Humboldt's day?
For me, popularity was always a matter of ungratified vanity. It's true that it would be sensible and useful for science to be taken more seriously in various areas of life. This would help a lot in solving problems. Fortunately, Costa Rica is a great example of a country where science and nature are always very relevant and enjoy a high level of respect and acceptance.

Bert Kohlmann is professor at the EARTH University (Escuela de Agricultura de la Región Tropical Húmeda) in Costa Rica. He is the director of the Centre for Research and Development of Renewable Energy.

 


you may also like ...

Teaser image A place to be curious

Humboldt Forum

A place to be curious

The Humboldt Forum opened its doors to the public for a weekend to mark Alexander von Humboldt's 250th birthday. A party where artists from South America took the lead.

More
Teaser image Humboldt’s Groove

Interview

Humboldt’s Groove

Akexander von Humboldt providing the inspiration for hip hop music? Is that even possible? Absolutely – „Humboldt’s Groove“ is the name of the track by Cuban rapper El Temba and Retrogott (real name Kurt Tallert) from Cologne. The latter is known for the social criticism of his lyrics. In Humboldt's ideas he recognises above all a political affinity.

More
Teaser image A name to conjure with

Traces

A name to conjure with

Few figures in history have had so many landmarks or discoveries named after them. The memory of Alexander von Humboldt is kept alive not only in his anniversary year of 2019 but also in atlases and encyclopaedias. His name even crops up in outer space.

More

Interview

Ein Skarabäus namens Humboldt

Bert Kohlmann ist Biologe, Professor an der EARTH University in Costa Rica und gefragter Käferspezialist. Im Interview spricht er über die neu entdeckten Arten Onthophagus humboldti und Uroxys bonplandi, Humboldts Relevanz und die Popularität der Wissenschaften.

Herr Prof. Kohlmann, Sie haben in Costa Rica zwei neue Skarabäen-Arten entdeckt und sie nach Alexander von Humboldt und Aimé Bonpland benannt – was ist das Besondere an Onthophagus humboldti und Uroxys bonplandi?
Beide Arten sind endemisch. Das heißt, sie leben in sehr begrenzten Gebieten in den Bergen Costa Ricas. Darüber hinaus ist Onthophagus humboldti die extrem brachypterische Art dieser Gattung – ihre Flügel sind also verkürzt und sie haben daher die Flugfähigkeit verloren.

 

Sie haben mal gesagt: „Ich sehe einem Käfer sofort an, ob er neu ist.“ Wie funktioniert Ihr geschulter Blick – und wo haben Sie die beiden Skarabaeoidea entdeckt?
Das ist ganz einfach eine Frage der Zeit und der Erfahrung. Wenn man so viele Jahre auf einem Fachgebiet gearbeitet hat, lernt man alle Arten kennen – und neue fallen einem sofort auf. Die beiden neuen Arten wurden auf Expeditionen in Urwäldern der Berge Costa Ricas gesammelt, mit speziell dafür entwickelten Fallen.

 

Als international renommierter Biologe sind Sie in vielen Forschungsfeldern tätig, mit der NASA haben Sie zum Beispiel an der seltenen Chagas-Krankheit geforscht. Warum zieht es Sie immer wieder zum Käfer, worin liegt die Faszination?
Schon als kleiner Junge fühlte ich mich von Käfern besonders angelockt. Als ich ungefähr zehn Jahre alt war, fuhr ich mit meiner Familie zum Tequesquitengo-See in Morelos, Mexiko. Dort sammelte ich einen Käfer, von dem ich erst später wusste, dass es der Phanaeus daphnis war. Für die Schönheit und den Glanz dieses Insekts empfand ich so große Bewunderung, dass ich mich wohl in dem Moment entschied, Forscher zu werden.

Auch Alexander von Humboldt war als Kind ein leidenschaftlicher Sammler von Käfern, Steinen und Pflanzen. Fühlen Sie sich ihm verbunden?
Meine Beziehung zu Humboldt reicht weit zurück und ist tatsächlich sehr eng. Erstmals bin ich mit ihm in Kontakt gekommen, als ich in Mexiko-Stadt eine Schule besucht habe, die seinen Namen trug. Später war ich im Rahmen meines Masterstudiums an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, schließlich bin ich auch Alumnus der Humboldt-Stiftung. Und ja, ich fühle wie er eine große Anziehung, vor allem aber eine große Bewunderung und Liebe zur Natur.

 

„Humboldt sagte, um die Natur zu studieren, müsse man sie fühlen.“

 

Erst kürzlich ist in Iran eine seltene Pflanzenart neu nach Humboldt benannt worden, der Tamarisken-Strauch Tamarix humboldtiana. Weshalb ist der deutsche Forscher so beliebt als Namensstifter? Man könnte Käfer und Pflanzen ja auch nach der Ehefrau oder dem Lieblingsmusiker benennen …
Ich denke, das liegt vor allem daran, dass Humboldt eine so großartige Inspiration ist. Ihm eine Art zu widmen bedeutet, sich seiner Person näher zu fühlen.

Worin besteht diese Inspiration?
Humboldt sagte, um die Natur zu studieren, müsse man sie fühlen. Ich betrachte diesen Kommentar als die philosophische Grundlage für jede wissenschaftliche Studie. Man könnte sagen, das stellt den Rahmen dessen dar, was der Philosoph der Wissenschaft, Imre Lakatos, ein Forschungsprogramm nannte. Mit anderen Worten: eine universelle Haltung.

 

Was macht Humboldts Relevanz heute für Sie aus?
An Humboldt wird ja auch Kritik geübt, zum Beispiel, dass er im Gegensatz zu Darwin keine Gesetze vorgeschlagen habe. Oder dass er wissenschaftsromantisch sei. Beides kann ich nicht nachvollziehen. Humboldts Denken war immer ganzheitlich, holistisch, einem Ökologen näher als dem „modernen“, spezialisierten Wissenschaftlertypus. Der Kommentar, den er 1803 während einer Reise durch das Mexiko-Tal schrieb – „Alles ist Wechselwirkung“ – ist für mich einer der größten Beiträge zur Wissenschaft. In einer späteren Schrift von 1814 notierte Humboldt einen weiteren prägnanten, geradezu prophetischen Satz: „Es gibt für die Wissenschaft keine kleinen Forschungsgegenstände oder Fragen.“

 

In San José, wo Sie als Forschungsdirektor und Professor an der EARTH University tätig sind, gibt es die deutsche Schule Colegio Humboldt. Welche Spuren hat Humboldt davon abgesehen in Costa Rica hinterlassen?Spielt er im Alltag eine Rolle?
Humboldt hat Costa Rica zwar nie besucht, aber durchaus seine Spuren hinterlassen. Im Kosmos erwähnt er mehrere Berge Costa Ricas, wie den Cerro Chirripó, Cerro Kamuk und Orosí. 1854 erschienen die Naturforscher Hoffmann und von Frantzius mit einem Empfehlungsschreiben von Humboldt vor dem damaligen Präsidenten von Costa Rica, Juan Rafael Mora Porras. Beide Reisenden waren ein Schlüssel zur Entwicklung der Naturwissenschaften in diesem Land. Sie haben maßgeblich zur Entwicklung der Medizin, Biologie, Anthropologie und sogar der Vulkanologie beigetragen.

 

„Popularität war für mich immer eine Frage von unbefriedigten Eitelkeiten.“

 

Inwiefern?
Der Forscher Hoffmann hat insgesamt 38 Pflanzen- und Tierarten seinen Namen gegeben, darunter einem Specht (Melanerpes hoffmannii) und dem Zweifingerfaultierbär (Choloepus hoffmannii). Darüber hinaus hat er die Vulkane Barva, Irazú und Turrialba untersucht. Letzteren bezeichnete er 1855 als „den ständig dampfenden Turrialba-Vulkan“. Auf der anderen Seite arbeitete Alexander von Frantzius bei seiner Ankunft in Costa Rica mehr als Arzt, er wusste über Zahnheilkunde Bescheid. Bei einer Gelegenheit brachte man ihm eine Flasche mit einem ganz bestimmten Wasser, eine Probe aus der Laguna Caliente des Vulkans Poás. Mit diesem besonders säurehaltigen Wasser lösten einige Leute ihre von Karies befallenen Zähne auf, angeblich mit weniger Schmerzen.

 

Ihrer eigenen Forschung ist in Costa Rica sogar eine Briefmarke gewidmet. Generell aber wird oft die mangelnde Resonanz der Wissenschaft im gesellschaftlichen und politischen Feld beklagt. Wünschen Sie sich manchmal eine Popularität des Akademischen wie zu Humboldts Zeiten?
Popularität war für mich immer eine Frage von unbefriedigten Eitelkeiten. Es ist wahr, dass es vernünftig und zweckmäßig wäre, wenn die Wissenschaften in verschiedenen Bereichen des Lebens ernster genommen würden. Dies würde viel zur Lösung der Probleme beitragen. Gott sei Dank, Costa Rica ist ein beispielhaftes Land, in dem die Themen Wissenschaft und Natur immer sehr aktuell sind und viel Respekt und Akzeptanz genießen.

Bert Kohlmann ist Professor an der EARTH University (Escuela de Agricultura de la Región Tropical Húmeda) in Costa Rica. Zudem leitet er dort das Zentrum für Erforschung und Entwicklung erneuerbarer Energien.


auch interessant ...

Teaser image Humboldt Forum

Humboldt Forum

Humboldt Forum

Ein Wochenende lang hat das Humboldt Forum anlässlich Alexander von Humboldts 250. Geburtstag seine Pforten geöffnet. Eine Party, bei der Künstler aus Südamerika die Regie übernommen haben.

Mehr
Teaser image Interview

Interview

Interview

Alexander von Humboldt als Inspiration für Hip-Hop-Musik, geht das? Aber klar: „Humboldt’s Groove“ heißt der Track vom kubanischen Rapper El Temba und dem Kölner MC Retrogott, bürgerlich Kurt Tallert. Dieser ist für seine sozialkritischen Texte bekannt – in Humboldts Gedankenwelt hat er vor allem politische Anknüpfungspunkte entdeckt.

Mehr
Teaser image Der Name Humboldt ist in aller Munde

Spuren

Der Name Humboldt ist in aller Munde

Nach niemandem ist mehr benannt worden: Alexander von Humboldt ist nicht nur im Humboldtjahr 2019 allgegenwärtig, sondern auch auf Weltkarten und in Lexika. Sogar im Weltall taucht sein Name auf.

Mehr