Exhibition

Wrapped up in Humboldt's legacy

The exhibition “La naturaleza de las cosas: Humboldt, idas y venidas” (The nature of things: Humboldt, coming and going) in Bogotá demonstrates how contemporary art in Columbia is looking to engage with the natural scientist.

Men of international standing sometimes squabble about the most astonishing things. The size of crocodiles, for example. In a letter to Alexander von Humboldt, the philosopher Friedrich Hegel spoke derisively of the allegedly puny dimensions of the American specimens – compared to those in the “Old World”.

Unfortunately, Humboldt rejoined, the American crocodiles never grew larger than 25 feet. That's more than seven and a half meters. A gross exaggeration of course. But the scientist wasn't just out to put his reptile-sceptic colleague in his place.

The 1993 video installation “The crocodile of Humboldt is not the crocodile of Hegel” by the artist José Alejandro Restrepo is one of the most famous works of contemporary Colombian art. On monitors on the wall, with a measuring rod placed underneath, Restrepo explores the anecdotes and legends surrounding the perennial crocodile debate in his country.

This work is now also part of the exhibition “La naturaleza de las cosas: Humboldt, idas y venidas” (The nature of things: Humboldt, coming and going) at the National University of Colombia's art museum, which was initiated by the Goethe Institute for the year on the theme of “Humboldt y las Américas”. Here curator Halim Badawi, who was also responsible for the exhibition “The School of Humboldt in America: works and documents” in 2014, once again traces Humboldt's considerable influence on Latin American art.

The travel notes and sketches made by the scientist and published in books and magazines had a formative influence, Badawi says, on how the continent was viewed, establishing a "representation of America" that persists to this day. Numerous researchers and artists were already travelling in Humboldt's footsteps in the 19th century to places like Salto del Tequendama, a waterfall near Bogotá which the German was probably the first to depict. Painters such as Antoine-Jean Gros from France and the American Frederic Edwin Church also wanted to capture on canvas the now famous motif.

The contemporary Spanish artist José Luis Bongore likewise set out for Salto del Tequendama, in his case with a camera. There he amassed material for a gigantic video installation, which is presented in Badawi's exhibition on three walls of the museum. It's no longer pristine nature Bongore depicts, however, but rather a region characterised by neglect, urbanisation and the excessive pollution of the Rio Bogotá. It is the contrast between what is left of the beauty (green eucalyptus and blue sky reflected in the black water) and the visible destruction that lends potency to this work, which Badawi sees as being situated “between Humboldt's grandeur and the tragedy of the present”.

In staging “La naturaleza de las cosas: Humboldt, idas y venidas”, the curator hopes to show part of Humboldt's legacy in all its ambiguity. “The ideas he developed in his geographical and human atlases opened the door to the modern sciences in America and brought a new visibility to the continent,” Badawi says. "And at the same time, through no fault of Humboldt's, this also ushered in an era of invasions, exploitation and devastation.” This reminds him of Alfred Nobel's discovery of dynamite – originally meant to limit damage, replacing the dangerous nitroglycerine.

The exhibition is divided into seven “dialogues” with headings such as “From scientific surveying to economic exploitation” and “From fantasy to destruction”, which explore the Janus-faced nature of the acquisition of knowledge. The artworks were created between the 18th and the 21st centuries, and the exhibited contemporary artists range from 27 to 60 years old, demonstrating “the vitality of Humboldt's legacy as a subject of critical debate,” as Badawi is keen to point out.

Humboldt's influence on contemporary art, he says, is enormous. “Any Colombian artist working today who is preoccupied with nature is, whether consciously or not, wrapped up in Humboldt's legacy. Today, 200 years on, engaging with his ideas and images is more vital than ever.”


you may also like ...

Teaser image At the easternmost point of his life

The last expedition

At the easternmost point of his life

At an age where most scientists would have settled for the odd conference, Alexander von Humboldt was still seeking adventure. In 1829 he set off on an expedition that took him to the court of the Russian Emperor and the border with China.

More
Teaser image A testimony to a restless spirit

Interview

A testimony to a restless spirit

Andrea Wulf has written numerous books, including “The Invention of Nature: Alexander von Humboldt’s New World” which became a bestseller in 2015. Her latest work “The Adventures of Alexander von Humboldt” is an illustrated biography documenting the explorer’s great journey through South America (1799 – 1804). It is illustrated by Lillian Melcher.

More
Teaser image Humboldt lives!

Exhibition

Humboldt lives!

The Hamburg Center of Natural History (CeNak) is joining in the celebrations to mark the anniversary year. In the exhibition "Humboldt lives!", the Zoological Museum and the Botanical Garden of the University of Hamburg cast a light on Humboldt's expedition to South America.

More

Ausstellung

Eingehüllt in Humboldts Mantel

Die Ausstellung „La naturaleza de las cosas: Humboldt, idas y venidas“ (Die Natur der Dinge: Humboldt, Kommen und Gehen) in Bogotá zeigt, wie die zeitgenössische Kunst in Kolumbien die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Naturforscher sucht.

Bisweilen staunt man, worüber Männer von Weltrang so streiten. Über die Größe von Krokodilen zum Beispiel. In einem Brief an Alexander von Humboldt äußerte sich der Philosoph Friedrich Hegel despektierlich über den vermeintlich kümmerlichen Wuchs der amerikanischen Exemplare – im Vergleich zu denen in der „alten Welt“.

Leider, spöttelte Humboldt zurück, erreichten die amerikanischen Krokodile nur eine Größe von 25 Fuß. Umgerechnet über siebeneinhalb Meter. Eine maßlose Übertreibung freilich. Aber es ging dem Forscher ja auch nur darum, den reptilienkritischen Kollegen in die Schranken zu weisen.

Die Video-Installation „El cocodrilo de Humboldt no es el cocodrilo de Hegel“ des Künstlers José Alejandro Restrepo von 1993 zählt zu den berühmtesten Werken der kolumbianischen Gegenwartskunst. Auf Monitoren an der Wand, mit einer Messlatte darunter, widmet sich Restrepo den Anekdoten und Legenden, die sich um die in seiner Heimat populäre Krokodil-Diskussion ranken.

Die Arbeit ist nun auch Teil der Ausstellung „La naturaleza de las cosas: Humboldt, idas y venidas“ (Die Natur der Dinge: Humboldt, Kommen und Gehen) im Kunstmuseum der Nationalen Universität von Kolumbien, die das Goethe-Institut anlässlich des Themenjahres „Humboldt y las Américas“ initiiert hat. Der Kurator Halim Badawi, der schon 2014 die Ausstellung „The School of Humboldt in America: works and documents“ verantwortet hat, spürt darin einmal mehr dem beträchtlichen Einfluss Humboldts auf die Kunst Lateinamerikas nach.

 

Die Reisenotizen und Zeichnungen des Wissenschaftlers, veröffentlicht in Büchern und Magazinen, hätten, so Badawi, den Blick auf den Kontinent wesentlich geprägt – und eine „Repräsentation des Amerikanischen“ etabliert, die bis heute bestehe. Auf Humboldts Spuren reisten schon im 19. Jahrhundert zahlreiche Forscher und Künstler etwa zum Salto del Tequendama, einem Wasserfall nahe Bogotá, den der Deutsche vermutlich zum ersten Mal abgebildet hatte. Maler wie der Franzose Antoine-Jean Gros oder der Amerikaner Frederic Edwin Church wollten das berühmt gewordene Motiv ebenfalls festhalten.

Auch der zeitgenössische spanische Künstler José Luis Bongore ist zum Salto del Tequendama aufgebrochen, allerdings mit der Kamera. Er hat dort Material für eine gigantische Videoinstallation gesammelt, die in Badawis Ausstellungs auf drei Museumswänden präsentiert wird. Bongore zeigt indes keine unberührte Natur mehr. Sondern eine Gegend, die von Vernachlässigung, Verstädterung und einer exzessiven Verschmutzung des Rio Bogotá geprägt ist. Vom Kontrast zwischen den Resten der Schönheit (grüner Eukalyptus und blauer Himmel im Spiegel des schwarzen Wassers) und der offensichtlichen Zerstörung lebt diese Arbeit, die in Badawis Augen „zwischen Humboldts Monumentalität und der Tragödie der Gegenwart“ angesiedelt ist.

Es geht dem Kurator mit „La naturaleza de las cosas: Humboldt, idas y venidas“ eben nicht zuletzt darum, ein Humboldtsches Erbe in all seinen Ambivalenzen zu zeigen. „Die Ideen, die er in seinen geografischen und menschlichen Atlanten entwickelt hat, haben in Amerika den modernen Wissenschaften die Tür geöffnet und dem Kontinent zu einer neuen Sichtbarkeit verholfen“, so Badawi. „Und zugleich, ohne dass Humboldt etwas dafür konnte, wurden damit Invasionen, Jagden und Verheerungen angebahnt.“ Ihn erinnert das an Alfred Nobels Erfindung des Dynamits – ursprünglich gedacht zur Schadensbegrenzung, um das gefährliche Nitroglycerin zu ersetzen.

Die Ausstellung ist in sieben sogenannte Dialoge gegliedert, die unter Überschriften wie „Von der wissenschaftlichen Vermessung zur ökonomischen Ausbeutung“ oder „Von der Träumerei zur Zerstörung“ das Janusgesicht des Erkenntnisgewinns beleuchten. Die Entstehungszeit der Kunstwerke reicht vom 18. bis zum 21. Jahrhundert, die ausgestellten zeitgenössischen Künstlerinnen und Künstler sind zwischen 27 und 60 Jahre alt, „was die Vitalität des Humboldtschen Erbes als Gegenstand der kritischen Debatte zeigt“, betont Badawi.

Humboldts Einfluss auf die Gegenwartskunst sei jedenfalls enorm. „Ein kolumbianischer Künstler, der sich heute mit der Natur auseinander setzt, ist – ob bewusst oder unbewusst – eingehüllt in Humboldts Mantel“, so der Kurator. „Die Auseinandersetzung mit seinen Gedanken und Bildern scheint nach 200 Jahren vitaler denn je.“


auch interessant ...

Teaser image Am östlichsten Punkt seines Lebens

Die letzte Expedition

Am östlichsten Punkt seines Lebens

In einem Alter, in dem anderen Wissenschaftlern eine gelegentliche Konferenz ausgereicht hätte, suchte Alexander von Humboldt noch das Abenteuer. 1829 brach er zu einer Expedition auf, die ihn an den Hof des russischen Kaisers und an die chinesische Grenze führte.

Mehr
Teaser image Ein Zeugnis eines rastlosen Geistes

Interview

Ein Zeugnis eines rastlosen Geistes

Andrea Wulf hat zahlreiche Bücher geschrieben, „Alexander von Humboldt und die Erfindung der Natur“ wurde 2015 ein Bestseller. Ihr neues Werk „Die Abenteuer des Alexander von Humboldt“ ist ein biografisches Bilderbuch: die große Reise des Forschers durch Südamerika von 1799 bis 1804, illustriert von Lillian Melcher.

Mehr
Teaser image Humboldt lebt!

Ausstellung

Humboldt lebt!

Das Hamburger Centrum für Naturkunde (CeNak) schließt sich den Feierlichkeiten zum Jubiläumsjahr an. Unter dem Titel „Humboldt lebt!“ blicken das Zoologische Museum und der Botanische Garten der Universität Hamburg auf Humboldts Südamerika-Reise.

Mehr