Interview

A testimony to a restless spirit

Andrea Wulf has written numerous books, including “The Invention of Nature: Alexander von Humboldt’s New World” which became a bestseller in 2015. Her latest work “The Adventures of Alexander von Humboldt” is an illustrated biography documenting the explorer’s great journey through South America (1799 – 1804). It is illustrated by Lillian Melcher.

Andrea Wulf, you recently accompanied German Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier on a six-day journey tracing the footsteps of Alexander von Humboldt. Starting in Berlin, you visited Cartagena, Bogotá, Quito, the Galapagos Islands and Guayaquil before flying back to Berlin. That sounds quite hectic...
Yes indeed, those six days were incredibly busy. I felt like I was constantly on the go, just like Humboldt. But it was a great experience. Eight years ago, I was sitting in the archives doing my research on Humboldt. If someone had told me then that, in 2019, I would be in Quito listening to the President of Germany delivering a long speech highlighting the role of Humboldt in the current debate on climate change, I would never have believed them. That was a ‘goose-bump moment’ for me.

How long would your itinerary have taken Humboldt?
Probably years. He actually went everywhere on foot. Our flight from Cartagena to Bogotá took just an hour. This stage of the journey alone took Humboldt almost four months.

Can one begin to imagine what it must have been like for Humboldt travelling in those days?
Difficult, but just about. Like Humboldt, I walked up to the top of the Chimborazo volcano in Ecuador, but I was wearing good shoes and carrying modern equipment. But I didn’t even climb as far as he did. I only got to about 5,000 metres, and that was utterly exhausting. In 1802, Humboldt climbed nearly 6,000 metres wearing canvas trousers and tattered shoes and with bleeding feet. It must have been incredibly tough going.

What were you looking for on Chimborazo, the highest known peak in Humboldt’s time at 6,267 metres?
This ascent was important to me, because up there on Chimborazo, Humboldt had a flash of enlightenment that became central to his understanding of nature.

In your new book, The Adventures of Alexander von Humboldt, you maintain that Humboldt had an inspiration up there on the volcano, which formed his ‘holistic’ concept of nature, as we might describe it today.
Yes exactly. He thought he was standing on the highest point of the earth, and from up there he conceived of nature as one immense and coherent whole. He realised that the trek from Quito almost to the summit of Chimborazo was like a botanical journey from the equator through all the climate zones to the North Pole. He observed the extent to which the plants – from the tropical trees in the valleys to the last vestiges of lichen on the snow line – resembled other plants from other corners of the world. It became clear to him that there are global vegetation zones; from then on, he no longer sought to shoehorn the plant world into a rigid classification system like other scientists but instead made cross-connections.

In your book, you also mention an expedition in 2012 which found that the plants on Chimborazo have since spread 500 metres further up – evidence for climate change. Is Humboldt the forerunner of modern environmentalism for you?
Yes, he is the forgotten father of environmentalism. In his speech in Quito, Steinmeier called him the ‘Father of Ecology’. Humboldt was of course unfamiliar with the term ‘ecology’, because it was only coined later. But he constantly refers to nature as a living organism threatened by man. Time and again, he describes how humans are destroying nature and the consequences of artificial irrigation, deforestation and the like. When he sees how the valleys around Mexico City are withering and dying, he writes: “I think that they set out to violate nature.” He was warning about climate change even back then. He was certainly a pioneer of environmentalism, but let’s be honest, he never turned to activism.

For this new book, you’ve embarked on a very special journey: you’ve worked your way through Humboldt’s diaries – more than 4,000 pages. Which of the various Humboldts did you find on your journey?
It was already possible to read transcripts of the diaries, but since the first pages started to appear online in 2014, they can now be viewed in the original – handwritten and with his drawings. It is apparent that Humboldt had a very strong artistic side, and that’s the reason why I wanted to publish The Adventures of Alexander von Humboldt as an illustrated book. He is often seen as this empiricist who roamed around South America with a set of 42 measuring instruments. But that is completely wrong. Humboldt was a person who kept saying we have to use our imagination and our feeling to understand nature. That is plain to see from his diaries: hundreds of sketches, animals, plants, calculations, silhouettes of volcanoes, maps. These are never simple passages of prose – Humboldt was constantly sticking new scraps of paper on top and adding sketches. These are multi-layered collages of his observations and thoughts. A testimony to a restless spirit which was constantly coming up with new ideas and never thinking in linear fashion but always in multiple directions all at the same time.

In your book, you allow Humboldt to recount not only his research and his discoveries but also his everyday experiences. On one occasion, he and his companion, the botanist Bonpland, adopt a stray dog. Were you making the point that Humboldt was also just a human being?
Yes, absolutely. It was not conceived as an academic study but rather as a book for a general audience. The research is of academic standard, because I used only primary sources. But it is very important to me that it not only depicts Humboldt as a scientist but also as a human being, because I believe that the one cannot exist without the other – they cannot be separated. Human nature determines the approach to science that the individual will take. Humboldt’s character was such that he wanted to go on expeditions. And if he hadn’t gone, he would have become a completely different sort of scientist.

We can’t talk about the human side to Humboldt without mentioning his sexuality. You explicitly address Humboldt’s presumed homosexuality, but the only words you put into his mouth are: “I never had a wife because I was always too busy for a family.”
We cannot say any more than that, because nothing more is known. Anything else would be poetic licence; it is very important to me that I do not make anything up in my books. Personally, I am 99.9 percent sure that Humboldt was gay. But what nobody knows for sure, as there is no supporting documentary evidence, is whether Humboldt was a practising homosexual. What we can say with certainty, however, is that he never had a relationship with a woman, because if the most famous scientist of his time had an affair with someone of the opposite sex, that would surely have become public knowledge. On the other hand, we do know that his brother Wilhelm did not allow Alexander to spend the night with a male friend at his house. But we don’t know the precise reason for that.

When your very successful book The Invention of Nature: Alexander von Humboldt’s New World came out in 2015, you said you wanted to put Humboldt back on the pedestal where he belongs because, outside the academic world, he has almost become forgotten. Was that really the case?
I’ve been living in London for almost 25 years, and I write in English. At the time, I was writing the book for the English-speaking market rather than the German. In the UK and the United States, even well-educated people have often heard nothing of Alexander von Humboldt. “Who’s that?” people in the US have asked me. You then have to spell it out: Humboldt Current, Humboldt Penguin etc. And then it finally clicks for most of them. In California, there is the Humboldt State University in Humboldt County. Even the students there think that the university is named after the county, and they’ve never asked themselves how the county got its name. Incredible! The only exceptions are the geographers who have heard of Humboldt. But to be honest, it’s not all that much better in Germany. Although Humboldt is known here, people often mix up Alexander and Wilhelm. Alexander is known as an adventurer and naturalist, but just how important he is for our understanding of the environment and of nature and also how incredibly famous Humboldt was in the contemporary world – the vast majority of Germans do not know that either. To mark the centenary of his birth in 1869, 25,000 people marched through Manhattan.


Born in 1972 in New Delhi, Andrea Wulf grew up in Hamburg. She studied Cultural Science and History of Design in Lüneburg and London where she has lived ever since. She works as an author, has published six books and written for numerous newspapers.

 

you may also like ...

Teaser image “The sensual Humboldt is yet to be discovered”

Interview

“The sensual Humboldt is yet to be discovered”

In his new biography, historian Andreas W. Daum puts Alexander von Humboldt’s life in the context of a revolutionary age marked by major upheaval. In our interview, the Humboldt Research Award winner explains the contradictions of Humboldt as a political animal and identifies some of the gaps still left to explore in the life of the widely travelled scientist.

More
Teaser image “Humboldt had this ruthlessness towards himself”

Interview

“Humboldt had this ruthlessness towards himself”

Researcher, globetrotter, networker and discoverer – Alexander von Humboldt was a real high-flyer. But who was Alexander, the private person? An interview with journalist and author Dorothee Nolte about the life and loves of an immortal genius.

More
Teaser image A name to conjure with

Traces

A name to conjure with

Few figures in history have had so many landmarks or discoveries named after them. The memory of Alexander von Humboldt is kept alive not only in his anniversary year of 2019 but also in atlases and encyclopaedias. His name even crops up in outer space.

More

Interview

Ein Zeugnis eines rastlosen Geistes

Andrea Wulf hat zahlreiche Bücher geschrieben, „Alexander von Humboldt und die Erfindung der Natur“ wurde 2015 ein Bestseller. Ihr neues Werk „Die Abenteuer des Alexander von Humboldt“ ist ein biografisches Bilderbuch: die große Reise des Forschers durch Südamerika von 1799 bis 1804, illustriert von Lillian Melcher.

Frau Wulf, kürzlich waren Sie mit dem Bundespräsidenten Frank-Walter Steinmeier unterwegs auf den Spuren von Alexander von Humboldt. In sechs Tagen ging es von Berlin nach Cartagena, Bogotá, Quito, Galapagos, Guayaquil und zurück nach Berlin. Ziemlich stressig...
Allerdings, diese sechs Tage waren unglaublich durchgetaktet. Ich habe mich rastlos wie Humboldt gefühlt. Aber es war ein großartige Erfahrung: Wenn mir jemand vor acht Jahren, als ich im Archiv an meiner Recherche über Humboldt saß, gesagt hätte, dass ich 2019 dem Bundespräsidenten dabei zuhören darf, wie er in Quito in einer langen Rede die Rolle von Humboldt in der aktuellen Debatte um den Klimawandel betont – das hätte ich nie geglaubt. Das war ein Gänsehautmoment für mich.

Wie lange hätte wohl Humboldt für diese Strecke gebraucht?
Wahrscheinlich Jahre. Er hat ja eigentlich alles zu Fuß zurückgelegt. Wir sind in einer guten Stunde von Cartagena nach Bogotá geflogen. Allein dafür hat Humboldt fast vier Monate gebraucht.

Kann man sich heutzutage überhaupt vorstellen, wie Humboldt damals gereist ist?
Schwer, aber es geht. Ich bin wie Humboldt den Vulkan Chimborazo hinauf, aber mit guten Schuhen und modernem Equipment und nicht einmal so hoch wie er. Ich kam nur bis etwa 5.000 Meter – und das war schon sehr anstrengend. Humboldt dagegen war bis fast 6.000 Meter – und das im Jahr 1802 mit Leinenhosen, zerrissenen Schuhen und blutenden Füßen. Das muss unglaublich hart gewesen sein.

 

Was haben Sie auf dem Chimborazo in Ecuador, mit 6.267 Metern zu Humboldts Zeiten der höchste bekannte Berg, gesucht?
Diese Besteigung war für mich wichtig, weil er dort oben auf dem Chimborazo fast so etwas wie eine Erleuchtung hatte, die zentral ist für Humboldts Naturverständnis.

In Ihrem neuen Buch „Die Abenteuer des Alexander von Humboldt“ arbeiten Sie heraus, dass Humboldt dort oben auf dem Vulkan eine Eingebung hatte, die zu seinem – heute würde man sagen – ganzheitlichen Naturbegriff führte.
Ja, genau. Er dachte ja, er steht auf dem höchsten Punkt der Erde, und er erkannte von dort oben die Natur als ein großes, zusammenhängendes Ganzes. Er hat erkannt, dass die Reise von Quito hoch fast auf den Gipfel des Chimborazo wie eine botanische Reise vom Äquator durch alle Klimazonen bis zu den Polen war. Er hat festgestellt, wie sehr die Pflanzen – von den tropischen Bäumen in den Tälern bis zur letzten Flechte an der Schneegrenze – anderen Pflanzen aus anderen Ecken der Welt glichen. Da hat er begriffen, dass es globale Vegetationszonen gibt – und hat die Pflanzenwelt fortan nicht wie andere Wissenschaftler in ein rigides Klassifizierungssytem gepfercht, sondern hat Verbindungen gezogen.

 

In Ihrem Buch erfährt man auch, dass im Jahr 2012 eine Expedition festgestellt hat, dass die Pflanzen auf dem Chimborazo mittlerweile 500 Meter weiter nach oben gewandert sind – ein Nachweis des Klimawandels. Ist Humboldt für Sie der Urahn des modernen Umweltschutzes?
Ja, er ist der vergessene Vater des Umweltschutzes. Steinmeier hat ihn in seiner Rede in Quito den Vater der Ökologie genannt. Humboldt kannte den Begriff natürlich noch nicht, der wurde erst später erfunden. Aber er schreibt immer wieder von der Natur als lebendigem Organismus, der vom Menschen bedroht ist. Immer wieder beschreibt er, wie Menschen die Natur zerstören, welche Konsequenzen beispielsweise künstliche Bewässerungen und Rodungen haben. Als er sieht, wie die Täler um Mexico City herum verdorrt sind, schreibt er: „Ich glaube, dass man die Natur vergewaltigen wollte.“ Er hat schon damals vor dem Klimawandel gewarnt. Er war sicher ein Vordenker des Umweltschutzes, aber er hat das – da muss man ehrlich sein – auch nie in Aktivismus umgesetzt.

Für dieses neue Buch haben Sie sich auf eine ganz spezielle Reise begeben: Sie haben sich durch die Tagebücher von Humboldt gearbeitet, mehr als 4.000 Seiten. Welchen Humboldt haben Sie auf dieser Reise gefunden?
Man konnte die Tagebücher ja vorher schon in Abschriften lesen, aber, seit 2014 die ersten Seiten online sind, kann man sie jetzt auch im Original sehen – handschriftlich und mit seinen Zeichnungen. Da sieht man – und das ist der Grund, warum ich „Die Abenteuer des Alexander von Humboldt“ als illustriertes Buch machen wollte –, dass Humboldt eine ganz starke künstlerische Seite hatte. Er wird ja gern als der Empiriker gesehen, der mit seinen 42 Messgeräten durch Südamerika gejagt ist. Aber das ist völlig falsch. Humboldt ist jemand, der immer wieder sagt: Wir müssen unsere Fantasie und unser Gefühl benutzen, um die Natur zu verstehen. In seinen Tagebüchern sieht man genau das: Hunderte von Skizzen, Tiere, Pflanzen, Berechnungen, Vulkanprofile, Karten. Das sind nie einfache, beschriebene Seiten, Humboldt klebt auch immer wieder neue Papierfetzen darüber, schreibt dazu, zeichnet noch etwas. Das sind mehrschichtige Collagen seiner Beobachtungen und Gedanken. Ein Zeugnis eines rastlosen Geistes, der immer wieder neue Ideen hat und nie nur linear in eine Richtung denkt, sondern immer in alle Richtungen gleichzeitig.

 

Sie lassen Humboldt im Buch erzählen von seinen Forschungen und seinen Entdeckungen, dann aber auch von ganz alltäglichen Erlebnissen. Einmal adoptieren er und sein Begleiter, der Botaniker Bonpland, einen streunenden Hund. Geht es Ihnen darum deutlich zu machen: Humboldt war auch nur ein Mensch?
Ja, unbedingt. Das ist ja keine wissenschaftliche Arbeit, sondern ein Buch für ein allgemeines Publikum. Die Recherche hat akademischen Standard, weil ich nur Primärquellen verwendet habe. Aber mir ist ganz wichtig, dass es nicht nur Humboldt als Wissenschaftler abbildet, sondern auch als Menschen – denn ich glaube, das eine kann es ohne das andere nicht geben, das kann man gar nicht trennen. Der Mensch beeinflusst, wie man seine Wissenschaft betreibt. Humboldts Charakter hat ihn dazu gebracht, auf Entdeckungsreise zu gehen. Und wäre er nicht auf Entdeckungsreise gegangen, wäre er ein völlig anderer Wissenschaftler geworden.

Wenn man von Humboldt als Mensch spricht, darf seine Sexualität nicht fehlen. Sie thematisieren ausdrücklich Humboldts vermutete Homosexualität, lassen ihn aber nicht mehr sagen als: „Ich hatte nie eine Ehefrau, weil ich für eine Familie stets zu beschäftigt war.“
Mehr kann man nicht sagen, denn mehr ist nicht bekannt. Alles andere wäre dichterische Fantasie, aber mir ist sehr wichtig, dass ich mir in meinen Büchern nichts ausdenke. Wenn sie mich als Privatperson fragen: Ich bin mir zu 99,9 Prozent sicher, dass Humboldt homosexuell war. Aber was niemand weiß, solange keine anderen Dokumente auftauchen: ob Humboldt das körperlich ausgelebt hat. Was wir aber mit ziemlicher Bestimmtheit sagen können: Dass er niemals eine Beziehung zu einer Frau hatte, denn wenn der berühmteste Wissenschaftler seiner Zeit eine Affäre mit einer Frau gehabt hätte, dann wäre das bekannt geworden. Andererseits wissen wir, dass sein Bruder Wilhelm nicht zugelassen hat, dass Alexander bei ihm mit einem Freund übernachtet hätte. Aber was genau war, das wissen wir nun mal nicht.

Als Ihr sehr erfolgreiches Buch „Alexander von Humboldt und die Erfindung der Natur“ 2015 herauskam, haben Sie gesagt, Sie wollten Humboldt zurück auf den Sockel stellen, auf den er gehört, weil er außerhalb der akademischen Welt nahezu vergessen sei. War das wirklich so?
Ich lebe seit fast 25 Jahren in London und schreibe auf Englisch. Ich habe das Buch damals gar nicht für den deutschen Markt geschrieben, sondern nur für den angelsächsischen. Denn in Großbritannien oder den USA haben auch hochgebildete Menschen oft noch nichts von Alexander von Humboldt gehört. Who is that?, haben mich die Leute in den USA gefragt. Man muss dann aufzählen: Humboldtstrom, Humboldt-Pinguin, dann klickt es bei manchen. In Kalifornien gibt es die Humboldt State University im Humboldt County. Da glauben selbst die Studenten, dass die Universität nach dem County benannt ist, und warum das County so heißt, wie es heißt, haben sie sich nie gefragt. Unglaublich! Die einzige Ausnahme sind die Geografen, die haben schon mal was von Humboldt gehört. Aber um ehrlich zu sein: In Deutschland ist das auch nicht so viel besser. Hier kennt man Humboldt zwar, aber Alexander und Wilhelm werden gern mal miteinander verwechselt. Man kennt Alexander als Abenteurer und Naturforscher, aber wie wichtig er für unser Umwelt- und Naturverständnis ist, und auch wie unfassbar berühmt Humboldt in der Welt war – das wissen die allermeisten Deutschen auch nicht. Zu seinem 100. Geburtstag sind 25.000 Menschen durch Manhattan marschiert.


Andrea Wulf wurde 1972 in Neu-Delhi als Kind von Entwicklungshelfern geboren und wuchs in Hamburg auf. Sie studierte Kulturwissenschaften und Design-Geschichte in Lüneburg und London, wo sie seitdem lebt und als Autorin arbeitet.

auch interessant ...

Teaser image „Der sinnliche Humboldt ist noch zu entdecken“

Interview

„Der sinnliche Humboldt ist noch zu entdecken“

Der Historiker Andreas W. Daum beschreibt in einer neuen Biografie Alexander von Humboldts Leben im Spiegel eines revolutionären Zeitalters voller Umwälzungen. Im Interview erklärt der Humboldt-Forschungspreisträger, wie widersprüchlich Humboldt als politischer Mensch war und warum das Leben des weit gereisten Wissenschaftlers noch längst nicht zu Ende erzählt ist.

Mehr
Teaser image „Humboldt hatte eine Rücksichtslosigkeit gegen sich selbst“

Interview

„Humboldt hatte eine Rücksichtslosigkeit gegen sich selbst“

Forscher, Globetrotter, Netzwerker und Entdecker – Alexander von Humboldt war ein echter High Performer. Doch wer war der Privatmensch Alexander? Ein Gespräch mit der Journalistin und Autorin Dorothee Nolte über das Leben und Lieben eines ewigen Genies.

Mehr
Teaser image Der Name Humboldt ist in aller Munde

Spuren

Der Name Humboldt ist in aller Munde

Nach niemandem ist mehr benannt worden: Alexander von Humboldt ist nicht nur im Humboldtjahr 2019 allgegenwärtig, sondern auch auf Weltkarten und in Lexika. Sogar im Weltall taucht sein Name auf.

Mehr